Finding all file changes - new, deleted, modified and renamed files

shEiD

I am not a real programmer, I'm just a self-taught hobbyist. Pretty much the only thing I know is c#. I am also a windows guy - no linux at all. Using unraid for a couple of months now - that's all my linux experience so far. So please excuse my maybe silly questions :)

I want to write a simple console app to track all the file changes on my media library shares. Basically, I would periodically use it (once a day, or once a week), on my main windows rig. It would scan the user shares on my unraid server over LAN, detect changes in file system and calculate hashes for all the and modified files. And write the log on all the changes - new, deleted, renamed(moved) and modified files.

I am gonna use hashes to identify the files. Using the hashes, I will be able to track all the changes to the files. Like I said, the files are media (movies, tv shows). There is nothing fancy happening with them, so the logic to find and decide what happened using hashes is pretty simple.

The part I need some help with and wanna ask some questions about, is making the scanning process as fast as possible. basically, I want to skip all the unchanged files as best/smart/fast as possible. I am not even an expert on windows file and folder time-stamps, let alone linux. Hence the questions.

1. What is the best way to check if a file has not been changed in any way? I was thinking - match the full path and modified time-stamp. Is that enough god enough?
  2. Maybe there is a better way to see if file has been changed in any way?
  3. Is there any faster way to do this, than to check every single file individually? By somehow skipping whole folders, if no files changed inside.