New Unraid installation won't format disk

I am new to Unraid and set up my hardware and OS. I pre-cleared both my parity and data drive. I then followed the instructions on the Unraid Getting Started page(s) as to how start everything and  assign disks, and as I recall the admin UI indicated it was formatting or something like that.  When all that was done, i got error messages from various sources, which seem to all be about this particular issue:

disk1 (ST10000VN0004-1ZD101_ZA21QC5B) has file system errors (No file system (32))

Some instructions in Unraid (I don't remember where) indicated I should hibernate it, and Format button would appear next to the disk, or something like that.  However, I can't find a button to format the drives anywhere. 

What am I doing wrong?  Why isn't there some obvious way to prepare and format a drive?  I need to get this Unraid working as soon as poisble.

Thanks in advance!

- Stop the Array

- select the disk

- change the format to XFT, press apply then done

- go back to the "main" tab

- in the "Array Operation" you will see a "format" button. it will automatically list the disk in need of the format.

I have followed the above steps and found that it does not always work. it could be a matter of me not waiting long enough but I can say for certain that the format button is not always there.

I'm sorry but OP is right. I am a noob and I love unRaid but I do find that I have to dig/click around far to much for simple things. The interface is not as intuitive as one would think. You get used to it after using the OS for a short period of time. unRaid is not one of those things that you can "fire-up" and figure out... but it's not due to your lack of knowledge, it's because things are burred in the interface.

7 minutes ago, smaka510 said: