CPU choice: Ryzen 1700x / i7-7700k / i7-8700k

Hello everybody! - my question would be  just as the title says.

I am completely new to unraid (besides a couple weeks of research) and I'm planning a new build from scratch.

Main use would be a media server based on plex, sonarr, radarr, etc. with up to 4 parallel HD streams and a possibility to stream 4k in the future. Besides that, I'll probably want to start playing around with a couple VMs (I myself am fairly new to this whole story). Also, I can imagine trying out some of the newer games out there. But that would be more out of fun. I'm not really the gamer anymore and I would not care too much if I cannot play game X ond the highest settings. But it's a nice to have thing really.

I don't bother too much not having a server denoted cpu with ecc-ram; hence the choice posted in the title. But now I'm having quite some trouble deciding and I get the feeling that it's kind of a strange time to do a new build.

1. Ryzen 1700x: I could get this one for 370$, but as far as I can see, some problems are still persisting.
  2. i7-7700k: This one stands at 360$, even though I saw it at around 310$ yesterday. Maybe I could get the discount again.. Generally, this cpu seems stable.
  3. i7-8700k: The reason I didn't go for the 7700k yet is that I could get the 8700k for around 390$, which is not that much of a difference for quite some improvement. The problem here is that it's a new cpu, nobody seems to have it running with unraid and the motherboards are not up there yet.

What do you guys think: Which one should I get? Or a completely other choice? I don't like the idea of waiting too much, but I could go for a wait if that's the best choice.

And if you by chance have a suggestion for a respective suitable motherboard, I'd be glad to hear it!

Thanks to you all and nice to be new here!

Cheers.