Newbie with some hardware questions

Hey everyone - I'm new to unRAID so hopefully I'm not asking about super stupid things. I'd appreciate any tips from those who've used unRAID for a while.

I have a home 'server' that I'm looking to upgrade/replace. It's running on an old Atom processor from 2010 with Win 7 and 5 TB of storage because I am literally only using it as a file server, with zero bells and whistles. Obviously it's not a powerhouse and I want to get into something more substantial. It would still mostly be a home media server, backup server for documents and disk images from my family's other computers, but I also want to run a few VMs and not run out of computing power.

Here is what I've cobbled together so far for a custom build: https://pcpartpicker.com/user/chris_b_chicken/saved/ddzf8d

Here's what I plan to do with this new computer:

• Have a fair amount of storage. I'm not 'data hoarder' level, but I still want more than your typical computer user, something in the neighborhood of 20-40 TB with 6-8 TB individual drives making up the pool. I haven't decided on how to structure that quite yet. I'll also have a cache SSD to help with some of the slower write speeds I've read about.
  • Run a lightweight Linux VM 24/7 (probably with a manually started GUI if I need to update it because I'm a noob). It'll probably run Debian/Lubuntu. This is primarily going to be for Pi-Hole to block ads on a whole network level, plus it would just be a general Linux sandbox. Pi-Hole can run on a Raspberry Pi, so it doesn't need much in terms of specs.
    • I may have additional lightweight web servers (CLI only for these) for my personal dev projects, but nothing requiring huge processing power (e.g. not an ecommerce site with tons of customer transactions writing to a DB).
  • Have a few random VMs that I would spin up from time to time to do random things, but they'd mostly be off: