Migration Question

Hello, I am new to Unraid and I have some questions.
I currently have a Windows server with 13 hard disks that I use mainly as a Plex Server.

My hard drives are all different I'd like to create an array with Unraid.

I wanted to know how much disk I can lose in the pool with the following configuration:

What is the best way to transfer my data, my drives are in NTFS
I listened to some video and I think the best way is to install UD and Krusader.

Create an array and copy my data then repeat the procedure by enlarging my array

I wonder if krusader will see my data in NTFS i dont want to copy over my network

(Parity)
1X 6TB WD Red

(Array)
1X 6TB WD Red
1X 4TB WD Red
4X 3TB Seagate
5X 2TB WD Green
2X 1TB WD Black

(Cache)

2X 120Gb Kingston

If you have suggestions this would be appreciated

Edited by nicecube

Hello and welcome.

You don't "lose" any disk capacity with unRAID except for parity (if you want to say that) and also unRAID doesn't have pools.  The unRAID "array" has data drives, up to 2 parity drives, and optional cache drives.  All of the capacity of the data drives is available to you.  The parity drive(s) protect the data drives.  The cache drive(s) can be configured with XFS or BTRFS - if you pick BTRFS you have some RAID type redundancy options available in the cache pool.  Wiki Reference .

The best way to migrate is probably UD, as you discovered.  You would add a new/unused drive to the unRAID array, mount the NTFS drive via UD, and then copy the data from the NTFS drive to the unRAID array.  Afterwards you can add the NTFS drive to the unRAID array to create more capacity there.  Rinse and repeat for each drive.  Note that you can start with a parity drive, or you can add parity later.  Two additional notes - 1) this requires at least one empty disk to get started as unRAID will format each drive you add to the array, and 2) you should really have all your data backed up elsewhere before you start the migration.