When To Purchase

Hey there,

I have a couple of questions that I've been trying to find answers to but haven't succeeded so far and I hope you can help. I'm really interested in unRAID and it seems to be exactly what I am looking for but I'm curious about my timing in buying it. I'm currently running an i7 4770K (no OC currently) with 32GB of RAM and I'm wondering if I should put unRAID on that system and create a gaming VM like LinusTechTips went through, or if I should wait and do a CPU/Mobo/RAM (to DDR4, likely the same amount) update before installing unRAID?

To keep on this like of thought, are there issues doing hardware upgrades after unRAID is installed. I do plan on getting an AMD Threadripper (assuming unRAID and it work together and it doesn't cost as much as a house) or a newer i7 or i9 with more cores (I plan on using VMs and likely lots of Docker containers as I'm a developer) so I'm curious what the process is like upgrading those sorts of components after unRAID has been in place for a little while.

Lastly, I do wonder if the idea of making a gaming VM is "recommended" really using unRAID? While Linus showed it's possible and seemingly has minimal impact I do still wonder if LimeTech would say it's an intended solution. I'm not against building a second NAS server, but if I can conjoin both and save money with little gaming performance impact the better.

Any help with these questions is greatly appreciated.

To note on this, by VMs and Docker containers I mean I plan on running a PLEX server, media procurement software, as well as smaller, lighter, containers that I make as a test environment. Nothing too major, but it needs to be accounted for I think when looking at the whole usage picture.

Hello and welcome.