Help with picking parts.

tyanu

Hello people,

I am planning to build my own Unraid rig and i would like your help to make it right on the first try.

As a PC enthusiast i have some knowledges about building PCs, but as this is more server oriented i am not so sure about what parts i should use.

I would like to have a multi-purpose unraid server. At first, i'd like it to be able to do the following things : NAS, personal cloud, media center/web browsing.

I already made a test (software) on a dummy PC in order to know what to use.

I'll have Unraid + Syncthing dockers + a VM running a windows (10 probably) which will be my media center/browsing Pc.

The idea is to get my gaming pc to be plugged only to one screen, opposed to the 3 it is plugged now, and control the 2 others screens runned by the VM with Synergy for example.

Basically, it would look like this :

| Browsing screen (VM) | Gaming screen (gaming PC) | TV (VM) |

↑                                        ↑                                           ↑

Desk                                 Desk                                      Wall mounted in the living room.

I will be able to reuse some parts of my actual rig such as a geforce gtx 970, and maybe the 8GO ddr3 ram.

Which parts do you recommend to build what i want ? NAS and cloud will probably be one 24/7, VM will be on only when i'm gaming or watching movies.

thanks in advance.

• What is your budget?  
    • I don't have a budget yet as i am gonna buy parts one by one in the next coming months. But i would like to have  a not so power hungry unraid so i don't have my electricity bill blowing up my bank account.

• How many drives do you want your server to be able to support and how much capacity do you need?
    • I'll add drives later in the future. At first, i was thinking of going with a ssd for cache, and 2 1TB drives for data + 1 for partition

• Is expandability important to you?  If so, what's your long term goal?