Unraid Boot Disk on Linux Filesystem?

eebrains

I'm new to unraid.  I've had my rig going with 6.2 for about 5 days now.  I am learning a lot about slackware and unraid - and I like it.

Question: Can I install unraid to a boot USB that is formatted in ext2? or ext4?

I don't like that the unraid boot disk (aka /boot/ ) mounts as vfat (ie. 100% open to read/write access), for obvious security reasons.

Anyone successfully migrate the boot disk to another format?

Thanks

I'm new to unraid.  I've had my rig going with 6.2 for about 5 days now.  I am learning a lot about slackware and unraid - and I like it.

Question: Can I install unraid to a boot USB that is formatted in ext2? or ext4?

I don't like that the unraid boot disk (aka /boot/ ) mounts as vfat (ie. 100% open to read/write access), for obvious security reasons.

Thanks

No.

Open to read/write access by what or who? You can control access to the boot device with regard to other computers on the network, for example. You can control what you allow dockers and VMs to have access to. Within the unRAID OS itself, everything is running as root.

Thanks

Open to read/write access by what or who? You can control access to the boot device with regard to other computers on the network, for example. You can control what you allow dockers and VMs to have access to. Within the unRAID OS itself, everything is running as root.

Example:  I forward SSH over port X from my router to port Y on my unraid box.  If my unprivileged user account is compromised via ssh (after all, passwords are sent in the clear), then said account would instantly have free will on my /boot/ directory.  For that matter, everything in /mnt/ is also 777.  Before I get the obvious "don't forward ssh to your router", I do understand the risk - so I have disable password auth and use only publickey auth.