Unison File Synchronizer docker container

lionceau

Hello, I'm new to unraid and still in my evaluation/trial phase. So far I'm very humbled by the functionality and ease of use compared to my Mac Mini homeserver running OS X.

One service that I depend on is Unison, a CLI file synchronisation service very similar to rsync but faster and with better conflict management.

On my current (non-unraid) server I use unison with a ssh for secure file syncing. It's fast, full-featured, stable, cross platform and much more dependable than syncthing, Bittorrentsync/Resilio and comparable apps that I've tried.

https://www.cis.upenn.edu/~bcpierce/unison/

I couldn't find anything related to Unison in the Community App program. There's an image on dockerhub but that's for a different purpose and doesn't include SSH.

Where do I begin setting up a personalised Docker container for this?

The developer is no longer adding features, only occasional maintenance fixes, so updates to unison are rare. That shouldn't make it too hard to maintain it for myself.

Or alternatively is there a way to pay a developer to create a unison template for unraid?

If all else fails I could make a ubuntu VM for unison but as I understand it docker is a "cleaner" solution with less overhead.

Another question related to Docker: I keep reading that unraid is not meant to face the internet because it wasn't designed with security in mind.

I understand this. Does this recommendation also affect services running inside docker containers or is the docker abstraction sufficient to make the service secure enough to face the internet?

• 2 months later...

I would love to have this functionality as well.  I use unison to sync data between 3 PCs in the house.... ironically enough I only use unRaid for media, and not any of my critical data.  This, of course, has led to data sprawl, having it in multiple PCs....   My goal would be to move my critical data to unRaid, and have unRaid synced to the PCs.