RobJ

Tips and Tweaks page

Recommended Posts

I do still think a Main screen button/toggle would be somewhat quicker, more convenient.  Unless you add an option for a Main screen button for User Scripts!?!

lol  I learned along time ago to leave system file manipulation (read that as dynamix plugins) well enough alone unless I have no choice...  And I don't think that user scripts is deserving of a tab to itself. 

 

But I agree with you that for something like a turbo mode on/off, something on Main would be great.  You'll just have to wait for bonienl to come to the rescue

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A different tip some users might find useful:

 

Setting the shares to private enables authentication, which requires unraid users to be defined.

By default, SAMBA shares that have authentication uses the user who authenticated to perform the file access. this can cause file permission issues between multiple users, particularly between files created by dockers, and unraid users over SMB shares.

A workaround is to force all behind the scene access using a single user, typically nobody. Then using the unraid user accounts for authorization only.

 

I have this little snippet in the /boot/config/smb-extra.conf

Code: [global]

    force user = nobody

There are other options to force permissions too, but its not necessary as the nobody user will always have access to files created, modified by it self.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I you have a Smart or Managed Switch, you will find that the switch has set up a default VLAN that includes all ports in the switch.  It is probably VLAN 1.  You should set up the unRAID network to be a member of that VLAN.  I found a lot of dropped packets before I set up a VLAN on unRAID.  Maybe one of the network experts here can offer some explanation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In networking VLAN 1 is called the native VLAN. This means that any untagged frames (no VLAN) are considered/treated as VLAN 1.

 

A switch has by default VLAN 1 enabled on all its ports and thus allows forwarding of untagged frames without modification.

 

Systems normally send frames untagged unless explicitly configured otherwise, this allows them to communicate using any switch out-of-the-box. It also means any unsolicited frames are received, indicated as dropped packets. Broadcast and multicast frames are the usual source. This is harmless and often disabling the originator of these frames is the best approach.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I think it would be great to have a toggle for turbo write on the Main page.  Plugin anyone?

 

 

RobJ, I feel like this is something that limetech thought about then changed their mind. Because in the disk settings page you have the setting 'Tunable (md_write_method):'

 

Now this has three settings: Auto - read/modify/write (default) - reconstruct write (turbo).

 

Now to my mind this would make sense if 'Auto' meant standard write if array was spun down and you just wrote a random file to a disk. Then to basically enable turbo write you could click the already existing button to spin up all disks. Then if all disks were already spinning then unRAID would switch intelligently to turbo write.

 

Because Turbo write is great I'm playing with it now. It's doubling my write speed which is great for my machine backups, etc but probably overkill if i'm copying an MP3 over!

 

I actually thought that's what auto meant on that setting until I clicked the help button!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the nic flow control/offload verbiage is a bit confusing..

 

I load up this page and I see per the right side that flow control and nic offload are off.. but the options themselves do not match up because of "disable" being used..  which creates a double negative with 'no'.

 

disable nic flow control = no.

when I read it, means that nic flow control isnt disabled.. 

 

I think the confusion could be solved by changing 'Disable' to 'Use'.

 

 

firefox_2017-11-28_12-12-04.png

 

Edited by zoggy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have you saved the settings?  If you have and they don't take, then your NICs don't respond to the settings.  The settings may not work on all NICs.  Tips and Tweaks doesn't verify the actual settings in the NIC.  It just tries to set the parameters you select and if the NICs support them, the changes will take effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have saved the settings ages ago when I first installed the plugin to have it archive the syslog.

Today I was loading the plugin page open to make sure the syslog option was still set and that's when I saw the verbiage up top and reported on it.

So anyways, the settings on the right and the settings on the page are how they are when loading the page.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


Copyright © 2005-2017 Lime Technology, Inc. unRAID® is a registered trademark of Lime Technology, Inc.