Shamalamadindong

$90 Xeon E5-2670 2.6Ghz (8cores / 16threads)

Recommended Posts

Wow!

Thanks for that link! I'm currently planning a new server and was planning on using an E5-1603 to start, but at that price, I can't let it pass.

 

I'd buy 2 if I could find a cheap consumer desktop board for under $200 (and upgrade my desktop rig as well).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are all 2011v3 boards backwards compatible with v1?

I'm not 100% sure, but I would say no to backwards comparability.

Looking at the supermicro website, the X9 series motherboards are compatible with E5-1600/2600 and E5-1600/2600 v2 family, while the X10 series mobo's are compatible with E5-1600/2600 v3.

The v3 family xeons support DDR4, where the V2 and earlier were DDR3.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are all 2011v3 boards backwards compatible with v1?

I'm not 100% sure, but I would say no to backwards comparability.

Looking at the supermicro website, the X9 series motherboards are compatible with E5-1600/2600 and E5-1600/2600 v2 family, while the X10 series mobo's are compatible with E5-1600/2600 v3.

The v3 family xeons support DDR4, where the V2 and earlier were DDR3.

On that's a shame. I was about to pull the trigger on this awesome board with 10 sata3 but it's v3 with ddr4

http://m.ebay.com/itm/161921784506

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've not been able to locate any motherboards for any reasonable price, of the original 2011 socket.

 

All of the prices I have seen, 300$+, are similar to 2011v3 prices.

 

This is the nicest I have found, for my needs. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157523

 

Not sure if the lower frequency will hurt my current performance either. Double the cores should make up for it. Running e3-1245v3 now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On that's a shame. I was about to pull the trigger on this awesome board with 10 sata3 but it's v3 with ddr4

http://m.ebay.com/itm/161921784506

There's always this board that takes up to v2 CPUs. (still 10SATA ports, 6 are SATA3 and 4 are SATA2)

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2050601.m570.l1313.TR0.TRC0.H0.XX9SRL-F.TRS0&_nkw=X9SRL-F&_sacat=0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On that's a shame. I was about to pull the trigger on this awesome board with 10 sata3 but it's v3 with ddr4

http://m.ebay.com/itm/161921784506

There's always this board that takes up to v2 CPUs. (still 10SATA ports, 6 are SATA3 and 4 are SATA2)

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2050601.m570.l1313.TR0.TRC0.H0.XX9SRL-F.TRS0&_nkw=X9SRL-F&_sacat=0

Nice find. Ipmi and 10 sata

 

I like it

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On that's a shame. I was about to pull the trigger on this awesome board with 10 sata3 but it's v3 with ddr4

http://m.ebay.com/itm/161921784506

There's always this board that takes up to v2 CPUs. (still 10SATA ports, 6 are SATA3 and 4 are SATA2)

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2050601.m570.l1313.TR0.TRC0.H0.XX9SRL-F.TRS0&_nkw=X9SRL-F&_sacat=0

 

Would it be a silly move to buy the other dual cpu board i posted earlier? I did want dual cpu but not if there are better options

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Shamalamadindong Thanks for the post. Never considered cpu's from ebay until now. Hope they perform better than expected.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Uh-oh! I have been avoiding an upgrade because I couldn't justify the cost, but assuming I can find a good motherboard, I may need to go down this route! :).

 

Thanks OP!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Uh-oh! I have been avoiding an upgrade because I couldn't justify the cost, but assuming I can find a good motherboard, I may need to go down this route! :).

 

Thanks OP!

 

Ya I think I am jumping on it. This proc, found one for 65 bucks. Motherboard unfortunately is looking to run 250-300, though I won't need any RAM. I was planning to wait for the new Intel E line, supposedly dropping soon, but highly doubt ill get the same overall performance/cost on that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I did it. I resisted as long as I could, but just pulled the trigger on two of these and 64GB of Registered ECC Ram.... It's been 5 years since I last upgraded this system, so I like to think I can justify it  ;D.

 

I've been using an x4 600e since 2011, and would really love to get into this whole vm thing, and I think this will definitely give me the platform to do it! :)

 

I'll make a new post out of the Good Deals forum when all the parts come in.

 

I appreciate the concern over Engineering Samples floating around Ebay (And Gary is right. There seems to be a bunch of them!), but these chips are legit.

 

There's a huge thread over at servethehome discussing them. Apparently some giant server farm upgraded and dumped them on the market. The price has been slowly dropping over the last few months and a number of users have ordered them and reported back.

 

Again, as Gary mentioned in the thread I linked to above, be careful to get ones that support vt-d (You want the SR0KX model).

 

As far as motherboards are concerned, there is limited choice. The cheapest dual socket one I could find was for CDN$400, so you're definitely paying a premium for it. Single socket were generally 50$ or so cheaper.

 

That said, when you factor in the cost of the chip, and the performance you get (12500 Passmark), it becomes much more of a deal. If you add a second processor, your score goes up to 18388. Trying to match those numbers with more current chips will definitely prove a lot more costly...

 

Edit : fixed url

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Price is crazy good!  I think I am going to pick one up and pair it with a X9SRL-F-O.  32GB Ram and I am looking at around $430.  Just can't beat that price!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've been using an x4 600e since 2011, and would really love to get into this whole vm thing, and I think this will definitely give me the platform to do it! :)

 

Any chance you want to let that 600e go?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any chance you want to let that 600e go?

 

Possibly. I considered setting up a backup server with it, but I haven't decided yet...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its amazing to me no one's really mentioned how much a decent amount of ECC Registered memory is going to run you, not just the motherboard.

 

Anyway I picked two up for $138.00, Gonna wait to see if I can get a deal on a 64GB Kingston kit $400.00 USD is a little pricey right now to shell out with the $329.99 ASUS Dual Socket board.  (Then again its a business expense....  Damn itchy 'buy it right now today' finger...)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its amazing to me no one's really mentioned how much a decent amount of ECC Registered memory is going to run you, not just the motherboard.

 

Anyway I picked two up for $138.00, Gonna wait to see if I can get a deal on a 64GB Kingston kit $400.00 USD is a little pricey right now to shell out with the $329.99 ASUS Dual Socket board.  (Then again its a business expense....  Damn itchy 'buy it right now today' finger...)

I bought 64GB for $150 shipped from here: http://m.ebay.ca/itm/201380486027?_mwBanner=1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its amazing to me no one's really mentioned how much a decent amount of ECC Registered memory is going to run you, not just the motherboard.

 

Anyway I picked two up for $138.00, Gonna wait to see if I can get a deal on a 64GB Kingston kit $400.00 USD is a little pricey right now to shell out with the $329.99 ASUS Dual Socket board.  (Then again its a business expense....  Damn itchy 'buy it right now today' finger...)

 

RAM is cheap. $89 for 32gb in eBay.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its amazing to me no one's really mentioned how much a decent amount of ECC Registered memory is going to run you, not just the motherboard.

 

Anyway I picked two up for $138.00, Gonna wait to see if I can get a deal on a 64GB Kingston kit $400.00 USD is a little pricey right now to shell out with the $329.99 ASUS Dual Socket board.  (Then again its a business expense....  Damn itchy 'buy it right now today' finger...)

I bought 64GB for $150 shipped from here: http://m.ebay.ca/itm/201380486027?_mwBanner=1

 

Whoa!  Good find.  Annnnnd...  Sold!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Copyright © 2005-2017 Lime Technology, Inc. unRAID® is a registered trademark of Lime Technology, Inc.